Menu

School Fixtures

In Years 5 to 8, boys are given the chance to trial for one of the school teams that play in traditional inter-school fixtures. These sports are coached and managed by school staff and some external coaches. Year 5 and 6 teams are referred to as ‘Colts’ teams.

Boys are able to trial for two sports but can only represent the school in one sport per season. The trialling process takes three to four weeks to finalise and teams are selected on ability, teamwork, and attitude. We do our best to ensure that every boy is given the best chance to display his abilities and to extend himself.

We form as many teams as possible, based on the number of teams available in the competition from other schools. Occasionally we have fixtures in other sports like badminton and touch rugby and boys will be invited to play in these teams.

In the summer terms (Terms 1 and 4) boys in the Senior School (Year 7 and 8) can trial for one of three senior cricket teams, one softball team and two tennis teams of 8 players each. Boys in Year 5 and Year 6 can trial for year-based cricket teams and one ‘Colts’ (Year 5/6) tennis team.

Boys have the opportunity to take part in multiple trials at the start of Term 1 for summer sports.

Cricket

LevelYearsTeacher ResponsibleContact
1st XIY7/8Anand Ranchodanand@wellesley.school.nz
2nd XIY7/8Kent Hainsworthkent@wellesley.school.nz
3rd XIY7/8Mark Meomark@wellesley.school.nz
Year 5 ColtsY5Steve Girvansteve@wellesley.school.nz
Year 6 ColtsY6Bryn Reesbryn@wellesley.school.nz

Tennis

TeamYearsTeacher ResponsibleContact
1st 8Y7/8Gretchen Elliottgretchen@wellesley.school.nz
2nd 8Y7/8Gretchen Elliottgretchen@wellesley.school.nz
ColtsY5/6Chevon O’Learychevon@wellesley.school.nz

Softball/ Baseball

TeamYearsTeacher ResponsibleContact
SoftballY7/8Jeremy Fieldjeremy@wellesley.school.nz

In the winter terms (Terms 2 and 3) boys in Years 7 and 8 can trial for one of four senior football teams, the 1st XV or 2nd XV rugby team or 1st XI hockey team. Boys in Year 5 and Year 6 can trial for two 9-aside football teams, a ‘Colts’ (Year 5/6) rugby XV team and also one 8-aside hockey team.

Boys have the opportunity to take part in multiple trials at the start of Term 2 for winter sports.

Rugby

LevelYearsTeacher ResponsibleContact
1st XVY7/8Murray Blandfordmurrayb@wellesley.school.nz
2nd XVY7/8Daniel Edmonds/ Steve Girvandaniel@wellesley.school.nz, steve@wellesley.school.nz
Colts 1st XVY5/6Bryn Rees/ Steve Girvanbryn@wellesley.school.nz, steve@wellesley.school.nz

Football

TeamYearsTeacher ResponsibleContact
1st XIY7/8Jeremy Fieldjeremy@wellesley.school.nz
2nd XIY7/8Mark Meomark@wellesley.school.nz
3rd XIY7/8Andrew Taitandrew@wellesley.school.nz
4th XIY7/8Anna Perrinsgapper@wellesley.school.nz
Colts A and BY5/6Jeremy Field, Tony Orbelljeremy@wellesley.school.nz, tony@wellesley.school.nz

Hockey

TeamYearsTeacher ResponsibleContact
1st XIY7/8Anand Ranchodanand@wellesley.school.nz
Colts AY5/6Chevon O’Learychevon@wellesley.school.nz
Colts BY5/6Chevon O’Learychevon@wellesley.school.nz